Posted by: nickwardscenarios | June 16, 2012

the boatman’s tale

Banjo Nick at the Portobello Gold – 7pm Sunday 17th June

I’ll be playing 2 unamplified half hour sets with Milo on percussion… Tough gig! so between now and then I’ll be deciding which songs and making sure I play and sing them as well as I can… Hope to see you there.

The boatman’s tale (is underway)

Come what may, come what may, the boatman’s tale is underway

The river is wide and the bank is muddy

The boat feels drunk and I can’t stand steady

Big old storm in the name of love

Rain coming down from high above

Come what may, come what may, the boatman’s tale is underway

Mamas kickin off with new devotions

Water getting higher on all five oceans

Threes a crowd for ritual potions

Sick to death of crazy notions

Come what may, come what may, the boatman’s tale is underway

Something missing in my life

Trouble, trouble, trouble, strife

River flowing through my mind

Bringing out my kinder side

Come what may, come what may, the boatman’s tale is underway

Rivers cruel when wind hits tide

All aboard, enjoy the ride

Inconsequential anchor chain

Breaks assunder in my brain

Come what may, come what may

If we don’t make the other side

You still pay a penny for the ride

17/6/2012

Live Music at the Portobello Gold

To brighten up your life. NOTTING HILL’S LONGEST-RUNNING

Categories

