Posted by: nickwardscenarios | August 25, 2013

Shakespeare Sonnet 29

bNICK

When, in disgrace with fortune and men’s eyes,
I all alone beweep my outcast state
And trouble deaf heaven with my bootless cries
And look upon myself and curse my fate,
Wishing me like to one more rich in hope,
Featured like him, like him with friends possess’d,
Desiring this man’s art and that man’s scope,
With what I most enjoy contented least;
Yet in these thoughts myself almost despising,
Haply I think on thee, and then my state,
Like to the lark at break of day arising
From sullen earth, sings hymns at heaven’s gate;
For thy sweet love remember’d such wealth brings
That then I scorn to change my state with kings.

A very powerful and beautiful poem (written in a strict form) which captures the agony and the joy of the great poet’s life – perhaps his/her heart was broken – yet I sense in the poem that she/he is healing it with the act of writing – perhaps to his/her great surprise, which is why the ending is so uplifting was my commentary (10/11/13)

The photo above was taken my Erich last week in Cambridge:

I wrote via email:

thanks for sharing the lovely afternoon – i love those cig-box guitars – and you sang pretty good

from Erich ‘BadFingerCBG’
Sent: Sunday, 18 August 2013, 17:35
Subject: Cigar box guitar

It was nice of the Cam not to boil up at my singing  and great to meet you this afternoon.
The guitar is my 12th build tuned GDg or a half step higher when I sing along. I have double coursed the melody string and tuned them in unison or just a touch off from the nominal note so you can here them both with a touch of dissonance.
It was really fun to play your banjo. I’d never played one before and I could get hooked pretty easy.
My Facebook page is BadFingerCBG.  I have a habit of smashing fingers and a friend offered the nickname. It stuck.
I hope you got some good tips while busking today. The weather was perfect.
Eric
added 16/9/2013 from Eric’s blog:
eric badfinger
Leave a Reply

Categories

