Posted by: nickwardscenarios | August 7, 2015

Banjo Nick Ramblings starts here!

My first photo uploaded outside my local pub The Milton Arms Hungry Horse in Cambridge...been trying unsuccessfully for a couple of days to add a photo to Banjo Nick Ramblings text of two days ago. This is a photo diary!

My first photo uploaded outside my local pub The Milton Arms Hungry Horse in Cambridge…been trying unsuccessfully for a couple of days to add a photo to Banjo Nick Ramblings text of two days ago. This is a photo diary!

Facebook is where I have been posting my photo diary since moving away from excellent Blogpress as a regular routine a couple of years ago. However three times in this Spring and Summer I have fallen foul of Facebook’s illogical and unethical policy of removing my fb profiles on the dodgy grounds that Banjo Nick is not the name I am ‘known by’. My first response to having all of my copyright photos, diary entries and exchanges removed without any just cause was simply to call myself Banjo Nick Ward and then Nick Ward (Banjo Nick) on Facebook, but not happily. Nick Ward was the name I used ( Nicholas Jonathon Ward was name my parents gave me) when I worked as a playwright-director, which I stopped doing in 1997 following my production of The Cenci at The Almeida Theatre…a music-theatre piece for Almeida Opera. The break with the professional London theatre was not without trauma but Banjo Nick is the result. And these days I am happy to be a travelling troubadour busking and gigging my way from place to place on my bike. Theatre-making at its purest. Unsubsidised and unmediated. Facebook has proved a wonderful medium for connecting with like-minded environmental activists and musicians, artists…and many others who share my mission to keep the rivers clean and challenge polluters to justify their insane investments in filthy fossil fuels and the arms trade which subsidises it to the tune of trillions. Banjo Nick as a Facebook entity has been restored today, and that pleases me, but for how long? Only unknown FB admins can answer that question so from today I’m back here on this site, formerly Nick Ward Scenarios…and I will post links to my FB profile Banjo Nick in the hope that it remains. Hats off to WordPress. Despite some fiercely anti-polluter postings over the years I was never censored.

Leave a Reply

Categories

